The Hidden Kingdom (Wings of Fire #3)

by Tui T. Sutherland

Conditional Recommendation: From the perspective of Glory the RainWing, the dragonets of destiny discover RainWings are disappearing from the Rainforest Kingdom and their search takes them through the Kingdom of Sand, the Ice Kingdom, and to the secret NightWing Kingdom.

Age: Middle Grade
Series: Wings of Fire, Book Three
Pages: 336
Published:  2013

Genre: Fantasy

This is my favorite book in the series because the adventure explores more areas of the dragon world, I absolutely love the RainWings and their kingdom. There’s mystery, discovery, awesome plot twists, new fascinating characters, a competition and wonderful character development of Glory. A great fantasy read in this world of dragons!

For a more about the series and its characters, please see my review of the first book, The Dragonet Prophecy.

Read Before this Book:

The Lost Heir (#2)

Summary from the Publisher

Deep in the rainforest, danger awaits . . . Glory knows the dragon world is wrong about her tribe. After all, she isn’t “as lazy as a RainWing”—she isn’t lazy at all! Maybe she wasn’t meant to be one of the dragonets of destiny, as the older dragons constantly remind her, but Glory is sharp and her venom is deadly except, of course, no one knows it. When the dragonets seek shelter in the rain forest, Glory is devastated to find that the treetops are full of RainWings that no dragon could ever call dangerous. They nap all day and know nothing of the rest of Pyrrhia. Worst of all, they don’t realize—or care—that RainWings are going missing from their beautiful forest. But Glory and the dragonets are determined to find the missing dragons, even if it drags the peaceful RainWing kingdom where they never wanted to be—in the middle of the war.

Recommendation Note

Some dragon violence.

Series Note
As of 2022, there are 14 books in this series with three major plot lines:
The Dragonet Prophecy: Books 1-5
The Jade Mountain Prophecy: Books 6-10

The Lost Continent Prophecy: Books 11-14

I have only read The Dragonet Prophecy (books 1-5) and those are the books I’m currently recommending for young readers to enjoy. I’ve heard from parents that LGBTQ agenda appears in later books so don’t set your kids loose on the whole series if you’re aiming to avoid such content. I can assure you that books 1-5 are free of this agenda and the storyline wraps up nicely in book 5 so a reader can be satisfied and not need to read more of the books.

Books I Recommend in the Series

The Brightest Night (#5)

Books Like This: Warriors series by Erin Hunter
Where to Find this Book: Amazon* or your local library!

*This post may contain affiliate link(s). See full disclosure on legal page.