The Brightest Night (Wings of Fire #5)

by Tui T. Sutherland

Conditional Recommendation: Sunny the SandWing discovers the secrets of her home and the Dragonets of Destiny must reconcile the seven tribes to end the epic dragon war.

Age: Middle Grade
Series: Wings of Fire: The Dragonet Prophecy, Book Five
Pages: 308
Published: 2014

Genre: Fantasy

Sunny is the little, happy dragon and her perspective for the conclusion of the Dragonet Prophecy storyline is endearing and hopeful. She is able to come into her own and speak up in this book and everything wraps up quite nicely. The scavengers (humans) get more page time in this book and I really enjoyed their role in the story. Part of the reason these books are so fun to read is because they’re told from the perspective of dragons instead of humans, so it’s fascinating to see humans through their eyes.

This book marks the end of The Dragonet Prophecy storyline and ends in a satisfying way so you could easily stop with this book. There is a little bit of a lead in to the next storyline of the Wings of Fire, but please see my series note below before continuing the series.

For a more in depth look at the series and its characters, please see my review of the first book, The Dragonet Prophecy.

Summary from the Publisher

Sunny has always taken the Dragonet Prophecy very seriously. If Pyrrhia’s dragons need her, Clay, Tsunami, Glory, and Starflight to end the war, she’s ready to try. She even has some good ideas how to do it, if anyone would listen to her. But shattering news from Morrowseer has shaken Sunny’s faith in their destiny. Is it possible for anyone to end this terrible war and choose a new SandWing queen? What if everything they’ve been through was for nothing? Buried secrets, deadly surprises, and an unexpected side to scavengers are all waiting for her in the shifting sands of the desert, where Sunny must decide once and for all: Is her destiny already written? Or can five dragonets change their fate and save the world . . . the way they choose?

Recommendation Note

Some dragon violence.

Series Note
As of 2022, there are 14 books in this series with three major plot lines:
The Dragonet Prophecy: Books 1-5
The Jade Mountain Prophecy: Books 6-10

The Lost Continent Prophecy: Books 11-14

I have only read The Dragonet Prophecy (books 1-5) and those are the books I’m currently recommending for young readers to enjoy. I’ve heard from parents that LGBTQ agenda appears in later books so don’t set your kids loose on the whole series if you’re aiming to avoid such content. I can assure you that books 1-5 are free of this agenda and the storyline wraps up nicely in book 5 so a reader can be satisfied and not need to read more of the books.

Books I Recommend in the Series

The Dark Secret (#4)

Books Like This: Warriors series by Erin Hunter
Where to Find this Book: Amazon* or your local library!

*This post may contain affiliate link(s). See full disclosure on legal page.